More to Explore

Santa Fe County

Located in north central New Mexico, Santa Fe was one of the seven partidos established during Mexican rule. The division of counties in New Mexico can be traced back to this time. The first subdivison of the New Mexico Territory was made in 1837 when two partidos -- districts -- were created. In 1844, New Mexico was re-divided into three districts. Eventually these districts were further subdivided into areas that include similar boundaries to New Mexico’s first counties. The County seat is Sante Fe, the capital city of New Mexico.

Latitude: 3531
Longitude: 10557