More to Explore

San Miguel County

Located in northeast New Mexico, San Miguel was one of the seven partidos established during Mexican rule. The division of counties in New Mexico can be traced back to this time. The first subdivison of the New Mexico Territory was made in 1837 when two partidos -- districts -- were created. In 1844, New Mexico was re-divided into three districts. Eventually these districts were further subdivided into areas that include similar boundaries to New Mexico’s first counties. San Miguel was named for San Miguel del Bado (Saint Michael of the ford), one of the areas oldest communities and the county seat until it was moved to Las Vegas in 1864.